Red Tornado Athletics

Mount Carmel Area Jr/Sr High School Athletes compete in both the Heartland Conference of central Pennsylvania and District IV of the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association.  All students are encouraged to participate in one sport or more that helps them maintain physical fitness, builds stamina, confidence and character.  As members of a Red Tornado athletic team, students receive training services and quality physical monitoring from professionals employed by Star Physical Fitness & Rehabilitation located in Marion Heights. Visit or contact the Athletic Office or team coaches to get more information about joining a Mount Carmel Area Red Tornado Sports Team.  Coaches are listed in the tabs below.

Mount Carmel Area offers the following sports for students:

 

Office Staff                Ph. (570) 339-1500 Fax. 339-4328
Name Position Ext.
Gregory Sacavage Athletic Director  Bio
Sharon Stankiewicz Secretary 3125

Download the Sports Schedule for all teams

Baseball

Varsity: Duane Winnie (Head) Assistants: Dan Winnie, Daniel Lesko, Roger Straub, Ed Straub JV: Chris Lucas (Head) Assistants: Ryan Geary, Ed Straub Junior Varsity: Ryan Geary, Chris Lucas

2017 Varsity Schedule

Boys Basketball
Fri Dec 9, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB @ Tri-Valley Tournament
Sat Dec 10, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB @ Tri-Valley (RIchard Savidge Tipoff Tourney)
Tue Dec 13, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB – Hughesville
Thu Dec 15, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB – Minersville
Sat Dec 17, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB @ Central Columbia
Thu Dec 22, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB @ Montgomery
Tue Dec 27, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB @ Millville
Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB – Line Mountain
Tue Jan 3, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB – Southern Columbia
Thu Jan 5, 2017 7:00pm – 8:00pm VBB – Sunbury Christian
Mon Jan 9, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB @ Mahony Area
Tue Jan 10, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB – South Williamsport
Fri Jan 13, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB – Bloomsburg
Wed Jan 18, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB – Warrior Run
Sat Jan 21, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB @ Hughesville
Mon Jan 23, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB – Mifflinburg
Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB – Central Columbia
Sat Jan 28, 2017 7:30pm – 8:30pm VBB – Southern Columbia
Fri Feb 3, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB – South Williamsport
Sat Feb 4, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB @ North Schuylkill
Wed Feb 8, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB @ Bloomsburg
Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VBB @ Warrior Run
Boys Soccer

Head Coach:  Kevin Wagner

Sat Aug 19, 2017 11:00am – 12:00pm  

VBS@OLOL (Scrimmage)

 

Tue Aug 29, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

vbs@north Schuylkill (Scrimmage)

 

Sat Sep 2, 2017 All day  

VBS@Line Mt. Tournament

 

Tue Sep 5, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VBS@South Williamsport

 

Thu Sep 7, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VBS-Hughesville

 

Tue Sep 12, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VBS@Warrior Run

 

Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VBS@Sullivan County

 

Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VBS-Muncy

 

Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:00pm – 8:00pm  

VBS@Central Columbia

 

Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VBS@Southern Columbia

 

Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VBS-Montoursville

 

Thu Sep 28, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VBS-South Williamsport

 

Mon Oct 2, 2017 4:00pm – 5:00pm  

VBS@Hughesville

 

Wed Oct 4, 2017 4:00pm – 5:00pm  

VBS-Warrior Run

 

Sat Oct 7, 2017 5:30pm – 6:30pm  

VBS-OLOL

 

Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:00pm – 5:00pm  

VBS-Central Columbia

 

Sat Oct 14, 2017 7:30pm – 8:30pm  

VBS@Shamokin,

 

Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:00pm – 5:00pm  

VBS-Southern Columbia

 

Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:00pm – 5:00pm VBS@Montoursville
Boys Junior High Basketball
Tue Dec 15, 2016 4:30pm – 5:30pm JHBB – Minersville (Freshman Only)
Fri Dec 16, 2016 5:30pm – 6:30pm JHBB – North Schuylkill
Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:00pm – 6:00pm JHBB @ Mahanoy Area
Thu Dec 22, 2016 4:30pm – 5:30pm JHBB @ Hamburg (7 & 8 Only)
Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:30am – 12:30pm JHBB @ Shikellamy (9th Grade Holiday Tournament)
Wed Dec 28, 2016 5:00pm – 6:00pm JHBB @ Tri-Valley (7 & 8 Grade)
Thu Dec 29, 2016 4:00pm – 5:00pm JHBB – Line Mt. (7 & 8 Grade)
Tue Jan 3, 2017 5:00pm – 6:00pm JHBB @ North Schuylkill
Tue Jan 5, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm JHBB @ Shamokin
Mon Jan 9, 2017 5:30pm – 6:30pm JHBB – Danville
Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:30pm – 6:30pm JHBB – Southern Columbia
Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:30pm – 6:30pm JHBB – Tri-Valley (7 & 8 Grade)
Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:30pm – 6:30pm JHBB @ Bloomsburg
Mon Jan 23, 2017 5:30pm – 6:30pm JHBB @ Central Columbia
Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:30pm – 6:30pm JHBB – Shamokin
Thu Feb 2, 2017 5:30pm – 6:30pm JHBB @ Danvilee
Fri Feb 3, 2017 5:30pm – 6:30pm JHBB – Mahanoy Area
Mon Feb 6, 2017 5:30pm – 6:30pm JHBB @ Southern Columbia
Thu Feb 9, 2017 5:30pm – 6:30pm JHBB – Bloomsburg
Mon Feb 13, 2017 5:30pm – 6:30pm JHBB – Central Columbia
Sat Feb 18, 2017 5:30pm – 11:15am JHBB @ Line Mountain Basketball Tournament
Cross Country

Head Coach: Mr. Chris Catton

MCA Varsity & JRHI Cross Country 2017 

(Home meets at Weiser Forest Rec. Area, Rt. 54, Mt. Carmel Twp.)

 

Wed Aug 30, 2017 4:00pm – 5:00pm  

XC-Scrimmage Schuylkill Haven

Sat Sep 2, 2017 9:00am – 10:00am  

XC@Lock Haven University Invitational

Tue Sep 5, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

XC-Milton-Warrior Run-Selinsgrove

Tue Sep 12, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

XC@Shikellamy  w/ Lewisburg & Bloomsburg

 

Tue Sep 19, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

XC-Shamokin-Danville-Hughesville

Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

XC@Jersey Shore W/ Central Mt. & Mifflenburg

Sat Sep 30, 2017 9:00am – 10:00am  

XC@NEPA Invitational – Bloomsburg University

Tue Oct 3, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

XC@Loyalsock W/ Midd-West & Montoursville

 

Sat Oct 7, 2017 9:00am – 10:00am  

XC@Lewisburg Invitational (Junior High)

Tue Oct 10, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

XC@Southern Columbia W/ Central Columbia

 

Sat Oct 14, 2017 9:00am – 10:00am  

XC@Shikellamy Fall Classic – Shikellamy High School

Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:00am – 10:00am  

XC@PHAC Invitational – Shikellamy High School

Thu Oct 26, 2017 9:00am – 10:00am  

XC@District IV MEET @ Bloomsburg University

 

Sat Nov 4, 2017 9:00am – 10:00am  

XC-State Meet @ Hershey Park

 

Football

Head Coach:  Mr. John Darrah Website

Junior High & Freshman Football
Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:00pm – 6:00pm JHF-Mahanoy Area (7&8 Scrimmage)

 

Thu Sep 7, 2017 5:00pm – 6:00pm  

JHF-Montoursville

 

Thu Sep 14, 2017 5:00pm – 6:00pm  

JHF@Selinsgrove

 

Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:00pm – 6:00pm  

JHF-Jersey Shore

 

Thu Sep 28, 2017 5:00pm – 6:00pm  

JHF@Central Columbia

 

Thu Oct 5, 2017 5:00pm – 6:00pm  

JHF@Central Mountain

 

Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:00pm – 6:00pm  

JHF-Shamokin (7&8 Grade Only)

 

Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:00pm – 6:00pm  

JHF-Mifflinburg

 

Thu Oct 26, 2017 5:00pm – 6:00pm  

JHF@Shikellamy

 

Thu Nov 2, 2017 5:00pm – 6:00pm  

JHF@Southern Columbia

 

Wed Nov 8, 2017 5:00pm – 6:00pm JHF@Pottsville (Freshman Only)
Junior Varsity Football
Mon Aug 28, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm JVF@Loyalsock
Mon Sep 11, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm JVF@Southern Columbia
Mon Sep 18, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm JVF-Montoursville
Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm JVF-North Schuylkill
Mon Oct 2, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm JVF-Danville
Mon Oct 9, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm JVF@Milton
Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm JVF-Lewisburg
Mon Oct 23, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm JVF@Selinsgrove
Sat Oct 28, 2017 11:00am – 12:00pm JVF-Shamokin
Girls Basketball
Sat Nov 26, 2016 11:00am – 12:00pm VGB @ Susquehanna Twp (Scrimmage)
Tue Dec 6, 2016 4:30pm – 5:30pm VGB @ Pottsville Nativity (Scrimmage)
Sat Dec 10, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB @ Mahonoy Area
Mon Dec 12, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB – North Schuylkill 
Thu Dec 15, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB @ Tri-Valley
Fri Dec 16, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB – Warrior Run
Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB – Milton
Wed Dec 21, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB Wyomissing 
Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB – Danville
Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB @ Bloomsburg
Wed Jan 4, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB – Southern Columbia
Sat Jan 7, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB – South Williamsport
Mon Jan 9, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB – Shamokin
Thu Jan 12, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB – Montoursville
Sat Jan 14, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB – Loyalsock
Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB @ Hughesville
Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB – Bloomsburg
Tue Jan 24, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB @ Warrior Run
Thu Jan 26, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB @ Central Columbia
Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB @ Southern Columbia
Tue Jan 31, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB @ South Williamsport
Wed Feb 1, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB – Lewisburg
Tue Feb 7, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB @ Loyalsock
Fri Feb 10, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VGB – Hughesville
Girls Junior High Basketball

 

Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:00am – 10:00am  

JHGB@LIne MT. Tournament (7th Grade Only)

 

Sat Oct 28, 2017 9:00am – 10:00am  

JHGB@Southern Columbia Tournament

 

Thu Nov 2, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

JHGB-Danville

 

Mon Nov 6, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

JHGB@Bloomsburg

 

Thu Nov 9, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

JHGB@Shamokin

 

Mon Nov 13, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

JHGB@Central Columbia

 

Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

JHGB@Loyalsock

 

Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

JHGB-Southern Columbia

 

Tue Nov 21, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm  

JHGB@Muncy

 

Mon Nov 27, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

JHGB@Danville

 

Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

JHGB-Bloomsburg

 

Fri Dec 1, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

JHGB-Loyalsalk

 

Mon Dec 4, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

JHGB-Shamokin

 

Thu Dec 7, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

JHGB-Central Columbia

 

Fri Dec 8, 2017 4:00pm – 5:00pm  

JHGB-Berwick

 

Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

JHGB@Southern Columbia

 

Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:00pm – 5:00pm JHGB-Blue Mt.
Girls Soccer

 

 

Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VGS@Upper Dauphin (Scrimmage)

 

Wed Aug 30, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VGS-Benton (Scrimmage)

 

Sat Sep 2, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VGS@Loyalsock

 

Wed Sep 6, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VGS@Bloomsburg

 

Sat Sep 9, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VGS-South Williamsport

 

Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VGS@Hughesville

 

Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VGS-Warrior Run

 

Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VGS-Southern Columbia

 

Sat Sep 23, 2017 11:00am – 12:00pm  

VGS-Tri-Valley

 

Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VGS-Loyalsock

 

Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm  

VGS-Bloomsburg

 

Sat, Sept. 30, 2017 11:00am- 12;00am V VGS-Montgomery

 

 

Tue Oct 3, 2017 4:00pm – 5:00pm  

VGS@South WIlliamsport

 

Thu Oct 5, 2017 4:00pm – 5:00pm  

VGS-Hughesville

 

Sat Oct 7, 2017 7:30pm – 8:30pm  

VGS-OLOL

 

Tue Oct 10, 2017 4:00pm – 5:00pm  

VGS@Warrior Run

 

Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:30pm – 6:30pm  

VGS@Shamokin

 

Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:00pm – 5:00pm  

VGS@Southern Columbia

 

Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:00pm – 5:00pm VGS@Sullivan County
**Golf
**Softball
Junior High Track & Field
**Volleyball
Winter Track
Wrestling
Fri Dec 9, 2016 4:00pm – VWR@DKI Tournament – Bloomsburg High School
Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:30am – VWR@DKI Tournament – Bloomsburg High School
Wed Dec 14, 2016 7:00pm VWR-Southern Columbia
Thu Dec 22, 2016 7:00pm VWR-South Williamsport
Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:00am – VWR@Tunkanock Tournament
Fri Dec 30, 2016 9:00am – VWR@Tunkanock Tournament
Thu Jan 5, 2017 7:00pm VWR@Central Columbia
Sat Jan 7, 2017 9:00am – 10:00am VWR@South Williamsport Tournament
Tue Jan 10, 2017 7:00pm – 8:00pm VWR @ Shamokin
Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:00pm – 8:00pm VWR @ Bloomsburg
Sat Jan 14, 2017 8:00am – 9:00am VWR @ Jersey Shore Duals
Wed Jan 18, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm VWR @ North Schuylkill
Thu Jan 26, 2017 7:00pm – 8:00pm VWR @ Warrior Run
Sat Jan 28, 2017 TBA VWR @ Lewisburg, with Hughsville & Towanda
Sat Feb 4, 2017 1:00pm – 2:00pm VWR-Berwick
Sat Feb 18, 2017 TBA VWR-Sectionals,
Fri Feb 24, 2017 TBA VWR-Districts
Sat Feb 25, 2017 TBA VWR-Districts
Fri & Sat Mar 3&4 TBA VWR-Regionals
Thur, Fri, & Sat Mar 9, 10, & 11 TBA State Wrestling Tournament
Junior High Wrestling
Thu Dec 22, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm JHWR – South Williamsport
Thu Jan 5, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm JHWR @ Central Columbia
Tue Jan 10, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm JHWR @ Shamokin
Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:00pm VWR-South Williamsport
Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:00pm – 7:00pm JHWR @ Bloomsburg States
Sar Jan 21, 2017 9:00am – 10:00am JHWR – JR Tornado Wrestling Tournament
Thu Jan 26, 2017 6:00pm – 7:00pm JHWR @ Warrior Run
Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:00am – 11:00am JHWR @ Line Mountain Invitational Tournament
Sat Feb 4, 2017 12:00 – 1:00pm JHWR – Berwick
Sat Feb 11, 2017 9:00am JHWR @ Shamokin Area Tournament Champions
Varsity Swim
Tue Dec 13, 2016 4:30pm  – 5:30pm VS @ Lewisburg
Thu Dec 15, 2016 4:30pm – 5:30pm VS – North Schuylkill
Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:30pm – 5:30pm VS – Montoursville
Thu Dec 29, 2016 1:00pm – 2:00pm VS @ Schuylkill Haven
Tue Jan 3, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm VS @ Central Columbia
Tue Jan 10, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm VS @ Shamokin
Tue Jan 17, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm VS – Central Mountain
Tue Jan 24, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm VS @ Williamsport
Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm VS – Danville
Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm VS – Bloomsburg
Tue Feb 7, 2017 4:30pm – 5:30pm VS – Jersey Shore

News and Events

Need extra cash… Apply for new Student Custodian positions

Fall 5K Run Registration to Benefit MCA Student Council

Sign up online for Free & Reduced Lunch

Voluntary Student Accident Insurance Brochure. Sign up using the enrollment form.

The Mount Carmel Area School District invites parents and guardians of students to review the 2017 Annual Notices.

Letter from the Mount Carmel Area Administration regarding Parental Social Media Awareness

Tornado Times Summer 2017 Edition – Download your copy.

Important notice for employees regarding your medical prescription plan

Interested in being a substitute teacher? Please check out the Guest Teacher Program at CSIU 16

Red VIT Sales for Sporting Events